My Love Language

by Lavender Elizabeth, March 14, 2018
While I was in California, my friends and I decided to take the Five Love Languages quiz. I thought it'd be fun to share my results on the blog today.

What is the Five Love Languages? Simply put, the Five Love Languages is a book and quiz that measures how you give and receive love. There are five primary ways that each person communicates love: Quality Time, Words of Affirmation, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch.

My Scores (out of 12):
Quality Time = 11
Words of Affirmation = 8
Receiving Gifts = 7
Acts of Service = 2
Physical Touch = 2

My Primary Love Language is Quality Time. This means that I communicate love with undivided attention. To show your love and care for me, I need people to show that they're there for me. Spending uninterrupted time talking with someone or doing activities together deepens my connection to others. Sharing time is key to building a lasting relationship with me.

Why this fits: I love spending time with people. Throughout high school and into my adult life, I've always loved hosting gatherings. Being surrounded by people and building relationships through deep conversation or a shared event is something I thrive on.

My Secondary Love Language is Words of Affirmation. This means that I love to hear the reasons behind an "I love you." Unsolicited compliments can mean the world to me, while insults aren't easily forgotten.

Why this fits: One of my favorite things to receive are handwritten cards. In my last relationship, we would always write each other letters on special anniversaries or dates. It was exactly what I needed to feel the love from him. The same goes for friends. Hearing the reason behind their love for me fills me with happiness.

My (other) Secondary Love Language is Receiving Gifts. This doesn't mean that I love the things, but rather the thought that goes into them. A gift or gesture that shows me that you know me and listen shows me that I'm cared for. Gifts are heartfelt symbols of someone's love and affection.

Why this fits: I love to give gifts. Coming up with the perfect little something for someone, whether on a birthday or just because I'm thinking of them, is something I truly enjoy. It would make sense, then, that I appreciate when others put in that kind of effort for me.

My two minor Love Languages are Acts of Service and Physical Touch. This means that I don't feel love through people helping me with things or giving me hugs or thoughtful touches.

Why this fits: I'm not going to lie to you, I'm a control freak. I don't particularly like it when people do things for me. Don't get me wrong, when someone makes me dinner or helps me in little ways, I appreciate it, but it's not something I need often. The same goes for personal touch. For instance, I'll hug my friends hello, but I don't want to sit too close to them on the couch.

Interested in learning what your Love Language is? Take the quiz here!
SHARE 0 comments

Add your comment